Home > Game Chef > Initial thoughts on the ingredients

Initial thoughts on the ingredients

So the ingredients have been officially announced, and I ponder what to cook up with them.

My first idea was something of a seafaring adventure, but it seemed a bit too “easy” way to incorporate the ingredients. Seabirds, seacharts and the dividers, using stars to navigate, and the french heraldry all hint at a game like that. But I’d rather do something more interesting.

So I picked up some of the ideas and fiddled with them a bit. I think I’ll be using them like this:
Star -> Constellations
Divider -> Ruler (maybe as a gaming mechanic)
Fleur-de-lis -> Heraldry

The theme, intrigue, can be interprated as scheming, plotting and mystery. That sounds definetely something I’d use in my game.

Special Distinctions also looked like fun. At first, most of them seemed a bit too limiting, but then I found few I liked. Mainly the year 2001, three players and “dressed-to-impress” trophies. I’ll have to think how they will fit my final ideas.

Three ingredients, an interesting theme and a few special distinctions to mix things up a bit. Sounds like fun.

Categories: Game Chef
  1. Hans Otterson
    August 31, 2009 at 9:44 am

    “Heraldry” and “Constellations” is mixing in my mind and bringing up visions of the Royal Court of Orion. Or something. It would be cool to see a ruler in a game doing something other than measuring how far you have to go to get to the next guy you can smash in the face. It seems like a lot of people have jumped on “Divider” as something specifically mechanic-related.

    I’m also very interested in possibly making a three player game.

    • Antti Lax
      September 1, 2009 at 1:14 am

      Hmm. Sounds interesting. But I’m thinking of ditching the divider-mechanic and approaching it in a more abstract way.

      I hope that someone pulls it through.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

