Home > Game Chef > The Secret Society

The Secret Society

Well, after a little pondering, I ended up picking a concept that has a lot to do with the theme, and a little to do with the ingredients. The working title is called “The Secret Society Game”.

Theme: Intrique
– “A complicated or clandestine plot or scheme intended to effect some purpose by secret artifice; conspiracy; stratagem.” -Wiktionary
– The plotting of the Secret Society is intriquing, and the actions of the characters are also very intriguing

Ingredients:

Star

  • The zodiac starsigns of the characters are a important factor in the game, they affect:
    – the characters relationship with others
    -the characters abilities and traits

Fleur-de-lis

  • Fleur-de-lis is interprated as a symbol of the Secret Society. It also represents the three branches of the Society:
    – The branch of Strength (physical problems)
    – The branch of Wisdom (logical problems)
    – The branch of Charisma (social problems)
  • Each branch is focused on different tasks and so the Society operates in three man cells
  • Each cell belongs to a wider (nationwide) order called The Garden.

Divider

  • This is a tough one, I’m not sure if I’ll incorporate this ingridient at all. My initial thought of using a tape measure were discarded quite quickly after I figured that I didn’t want to use them in a socially demanding game like this.
  • Another idea was to use divider in a more abstract sense: the Society is a separator itself (separating people, wealth or even nations)

But where do the players fit in all of this? That is a question I’m not sure I know an answer to, yet. I was thinking that they represent a three man cell trying to achieve something the Society wants.

I am not 100% sure if I like this or not. It depends on how it ends up. Always taste the dish during the cooking 🙂

Categories: Game Chef
  1. edronwards
    September 1, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Psst: Dividers are Compasses. The Square and Compass is famously the symbol of the Freemasons. The Freemasons are the most famous “secret” society in the world.

    • Antti Lax
      September 1, 2009 at 10:57 pm

      Thanks for the info, but I kinda knew it already. I was just unwilling to do a game that focuses on a real secret society.

      I just don’t know if I am willing to do a game concerning secret societies at all. I might need ditch the most of this and start again.

  1. September 7, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

